There are several simple steps you must go through if you are interested in obtaining a Concealed Carry Permit in Colorado. Here we will discuss the steps you will go through and provide you with links to additional resources. Because Whistling Pines Gun Club is located in Colorado Springs, we will specifically be addressing EL Paso County. The CCW (Carry Concealed Weapon) rules may be different for your location. Please check your local regulations!
What is the Process of Obtaining a Concealed Handgun Permit?
- Determine if you are Eligible.
- Demonstrate Safety and Proficiency with a handgun to obtain your Training Certificate.
- Complete a Concealed Handgun Permit Application.
- Set an appointment with the El Paso County Sheriff by calling 719 520-7249
- Pay the Required Fees.
- Have your photo taken, sign the application and submit two sets of fingerprints.
- Wait four to twelve weeks for your permit to be approved.
Who is eligible to obtain a concealed weapons permit?
As an applicant, you must meet the following criteria:
- You must be a legal resident of the State of Colorado. (Armed Forces personnel who are permanently stationed in Colorado and their immediate family members are considered legal residents.)
- You must be 21 years of age or older (or at least 18 years of age if seeking a temporary, emergency permit.
- You can not be ineligible to possess a firearm pursuant to section 18-12-108 or Federal Law. (Deals with possession of weapons by previous offenders.)
- You can not have been convicted of perjury under section 18-8-503. (Deals with information provided or deliberately omitted on a permit application.)
- You must not chronically and habitually use alcoholic beverages to the extent that your normal faculties are functionally impaired.
- You are not an unlawful user of or addicted to a controlled substance as defined in section 18- 18-102(5). (As determined by Federal Law and Regulations. The ATF has determined that state issued Medical Marijuana cards Do Not exempt this restriction.)
- You are not subject to a restraining order under certain guidelines.
- Evidence of experience with firearms through participation in organized shooting competitions
- Evidence that, at the time the application is submitted, you are a certified firearms instructor
- Proof you have been Honorably discharged from a branch of the United States Armed Forces within the three years preceding your submission of the application, or ten years if you held a pistol qualification, or…
- A training certificate from a “handgun training class” obtained within the ten years preceding your submission of the application. At Whistling Pines we offer the following classes that will qualify you for a Concealed Carry License:
How Much Does it Cost to Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit in Colorado?
In addition to the cost of the training, in El Paso County you will have to pay:
- $60.00 to the Sheriff’s Office. (Cash, personal check, money order or cashier’s check)
- $52.50 to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation for the background check. (Money order or cashier’s check only)
The Permit is valid for 5 years.
Here is a link to the El Paso County Sheriff’s Office information on Concealed Handgun Permits.